M83 — Saturdays=Youth

m83

I’m electing M83’s album Saturdays=Youth as my album of the year, a record built on nostalgia and the awkwardness of being young. Often an album’s importance lies not only in the sounds and creativity of the songs, but also with the time that you hear it in your life. Saturdays=Youth played on repeat in the car for my final weeks in Rochester before Brie and I left on our bicycle tour. As I drove around the city tying up loose ends, and going to the last shows or parties that I would ever go to in my hometown (at least for a long time), this album reminded me that things weren’t so bad here, where I grew up, and that many of the things I experienced would stay with me forever, and many of them deserved to be cherished.

Here is a video from the record:

~ by Catastrophysicist on December 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
