On the Road Again

newhome

Welp, once again Brie and I have decided to forego the comfort of a warm bed, and other modern technologies, like the “shower”, for the inviting tenderness of a cold slab of cement beneath a pavilion in places like Rockmart, Georgia. Having completely let ourselves go physically during our hiatus in dadgum Gainesville, GA, neither of us was at all ready to start riding again, but, we had set a date for January 3rd, and we stuck with it, despite the threat of heavy rain, dense fog, and no concrete lodging plans. That’s right, we bad! Our plan was to ride out via the Silver Comet Trail, that runs from Smyrna, just outside of Atlanta, all the way to the Alabama state line, about 60 miles, where it meets up with the Chief Ladiga Trail, which runs for an additional 33. Both trails were absolutely beautiful, and our first day riding through the fog really enhanced the scenery. The fog in northern Georgia is one thing I’ll definitely miss.
cometunel

Naturally, riding and sleeping in the rain had to make one of us sick, and it happened to be me. So, on our third day, we find ourselves spending the night at the University Inn in Jacksonville, AL. Meanwhile, it’s pouring outside, and we don’t feel too bad about breaking down and getting a room. After a day spent in bed sweating out a fever, and watching shitty t.v. (with the exception of the 2 hour Cosby marathon) I, for one, am already restless to go, and Brie has fallen into an A&E Intervention K-hole. Tomorrow’s forecast calls for more thunderstorms, but it’s going to be real warm, so we’re going to make a break for Birmingham.
silouhette

~ by Catastrophysicist on January 5, 2009.

3 Responses to “On the Road Again”

  1. Awesome pictures. The one through the dome and the sunset are ridiculous. Listening to the Animal collective. Love it… wondering if you heard it before you left?

  2. Thanks. . . I DL’d the AC the OD, and played it earlier. IMO it’s OK but I’m not too big a fan. . . I might think they’s over-rated. I do like Sung Tongs and my fav by them is Campfire Songs. I’ll play it some more though probably. Look out for my ghost-post!

  3. Yeah, super pics. Especially like the fog on trail one (first). But I confess to having re-read part of your blog to my own satisfaction.

    You state “The fog in northern Georgia is one thing I’ll definitely miss.” I swapped “miss” for “mist,” which I really think works considering all things!

Leave a Reply

 
