Difficulties of (Pro)portion

Sometimes, (full disclosure: often) after I prepare something for dinner, I look down at the plate and I ask myself what my problem is, and wonder why it is that I can not manage to put together a reasonably-sized dinner; why I inevitably fix a plate that is at least 2 times bigger than what I need to eat. I was faced with this difficulty of portion yet again as I prepared to sit down to the Newshour, and an enormous plate of food composed of 2 sunnyside-ups, 2 fried polenta cakes, and 2 of Voget’s smoked porkchops:







Realizing that I probably only really needed 1 each of these things, I shrugged my shoulders, and vowed that Next Time, I will be more careful about how much food I put on the plate! I moved to the table and began to eat. About half-way through the meal, I realized that in this case, though, I had not actually made a mistake of portion, but rather of proportion, and what I really needed was a third egg. You see, I ran out of runny goodness, with smokey pork to spare! Yes, I learned a valuable lesson that day. . .

~ by Catastrophysicist on April 18, 2011.

2 Responses to “Difficulties of (Pro)portion”

  1. I bet this post will be less funny to your family when you stroke out and die.

Leave a Reply

 
