Categories
Uncategorized

Steamed Sweet Potato

sweetpotato



One of my favorite simple recipes is the steamed sweet potato. I feel like most often sweet potatoes are mashed, or roasted, or covered in marshmallows and brown sugar, and all of those things are great, but I feel that the flavor and texture of the sweet potato is best exemplified in this preparation. I first had this at the Tao of Tea in Portland, OR, a specialty store and teahouse on Belmont Ave. that takes tea to another dimension. I owe them a tip of the hat for the introduction.



I bought a rice steamer at a yard sale the other day, and it came with a vegetable steamer basket. I used to have a set of those cumbersome bamboo baskets that you would set over a simmering pot of water, until my girlfriend managed to set the lid on fire. I guess it turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because now we have this new steaming unit, which is highly preferable. In any case, here is the steamed sweet potato preparation:



Peal, slice in half length-wise, and steam the sweet potatoes. It should take around 20 to 30 minutes depending on how big they are. Pierce with a knife to test for doneness. Chop up a few sprigs of cilantro, and slice a few wedges of lime. Once the potato halves are done steaming, plate and sprinkle with the chopped cilantro, a little Fleur de Sel (fancy salt–kosher salt is fine, also, but you want a lager grain salt is all), and finally squeeze some lime juice over the top. Done and delicious!

10 replies on “Steamed Sweet Potato”

When I first saw this photo (Tastespotting) I thought it was a sweet potato sorbet. It looks so clean and lovely. You certainly have an eye for photography. Fleur de sel over the steamed sweet potato sounds like a nice addition to a sunday brunch.

i’ve steamed a lot of sweet potatoes, but i’ve never hit them with lime… good call!

I thought it was a sweet potato sorbet too! Not a bad idea….I love methods of cooking vegetables (or anything, really) that keeps it simple, and really enhances the flavor of the natural product.

Great photo.

-Siri

I am going to rate this one a miss. Steaming is a good way to cook them but unless you REALLY love cilantro it is a bit overpowering here. I will admit to being a little lukewarm on cilantro at the best of times. It is good but too easily becomes overpowering. The recipe was worth trying however and thanks for sharing something different.

I used to have similar feelings towards cilantro myself, so I understand your sentiment. However, my palette has since changed, and now I can not get enough of it. I often substitute cilantro for parsley when making tomato sauce these days. I’m sorry that this combination didn’t work for you.

Leave a comment