Salt on Everything

I was out to lunch at the Mongolian BBQ this afternoon, when one of my Mexican compadres started to salting his orange. I thought it was a joke, until he kept at it. Then Louis told me that most Mexicans salt their oranges, and that it’s actually very good. So naturally, I stabbed a mandarin wedge with my fork, salted it up, and saw that it was good. One never knows, after all, now does one? What do you salt?

~ by Catastrophysicist on July 19, 2009.

6 Responses to “Salt on Everything”

  1. My dad’s family are from South Carolina and they always salted their watermelon. I also have strong memories of my cousin coming home from high school, getting a cold lemon from the fridge, slicing it in half, salting it, and then sucking on it while watching TV.

    Anecdotally, that is the memory that I used to trigger saliva when I was getting an upper gastroenterological exam that required me to suddenly salivate a lot.

  2. I’ve eaten salted lemons before, but not oranges! That I’ve gotta try.

  3. Hmm, I don’t think I’m very experimental with salt. I’ve only ever oversalted the normal things…

  4. I have to agree with John. I sometimes use the salt shaker basically as a utensil, holding it in my left hand as I eat with my right.

  5. I’m a pretty normal salter myself. I don’t go crazy with it, though, like you do Phil. I’m thinking of one time when we were kids, and you and Rob were having roast chicken for dinner. I thought you two were going to have a fight over the salt shaker!

  6. Haha, I don’t remember that, but I don’t doubt it for a minute.

Leave a Reply

 
